Granny David

Behind the Beats: STBB #679 - Moxatron

Sat May 23, 2020 12:31 am

Interview with STBB Forever Beat Battle #679 Winner, Moxatron

Can you shortly introduce yourself?

Moxatron: My name is Oliver Moxey aka MOXATRON, I’ve been making music since around 2007 and found my self Deep in the Forest of Sounds.

What was your first STBB entry?

Moxatron: Way back! in 2009! my first entry was STBB118

Can you tell us about your musical or other inspirations.. acts/ producers whathaveyou?

Moxatron: When I was around 10 I got my first record of a cereal box, magic number by De La Soul, I was hooked on playing the one sided cutout record!
I then discovered independent style bands,Rock and Roll, psychedelic, metal, Doom metal, hip hop, techno, rave, disco, soul, funk, jazz, instrumentals… Shit the list goes on and on.
I like a lot of different styles and genres of music, there isn’t really anything I wouldn’t listen too.

I like a lot of the old school producers that have been in the game for a while.
Producers/MC’s like.
Aesop Rock, Beastie Boys, De La Soul, Gang Starr, Grandmaster Flash. Task Force, Chester P, Famra G, Rick Ross, Redman, EL-P, J Dilla, Madlib, OH-NO, EDAN, Mr. LIF, D.E.L.
The list could go on.

How did you learn to make beats..and do you play any instruments?

Moxatron: I started messing around in Garage band, mashing computer game sound together and learning how to sample, just a lot of experimenting, trying things out, I eventually got round to upgrading my equipment.
I bought Logic 8, and a MPD32. Got myself some monitors and an external sound card.
I stared to try and understand sound waves and frequency, all the science and maths of music, watching youtube videos on tips and techniques. I’m still learning new things all the time.

I don’t really play any instruments like a guitar or trumpet.
except for the USB keyboard, which I have very basic skills on! No piano school for me! and bashing out the drums on the MPD?